The National Election Watch (NEW) Overview

In September of 2001, the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs (NDI) conducted a retreat at Milton Margai College for non-partisan organizations interested in monitoring the 2002 presidential and parliamentary elections in Sierra Leone. Convened with the help of the Civil Society Movement – Sierra Leone (CSM-SL) and the National Forum for Human Rights (NFHR), 16 organizations came together for the purpose of learning about election observation and to develop a Code of Conduct for non-partisan domestic election observers. The groups involved in the retreat produced a voluntary set of standards and encouraged all other groups interested in election observation in Sierra Leone to follow these guidelines.

In December 2001, many of the organizations from the retreat along with a few new ones expressed interest in working together as an observation partnership to increase their numbers on polling day and to strengthen their reporting. With added assistance from the Commonwealth Secretariat, a coalition of 18 non-partisan organizations with differing missions launched the National Election Watch (NEW), a cooperating network of civic, professional, labor and religious organizations. Efforts were made to include representatives from all sectors of civil society.

NEW elected as its Chairman, the Reverend Rogers-Wright from the Sierra Leone Council of Churches (SLCC) and, with assistance from NDI and the Commonwealth Secretariat, began to organize nationally to train and prepare monitors. NEW member organizations, Civil Society Movement, Center for the Coordination of Youth Activities and the Campaign for Good Governance, monitored the registration process and issued reports with the endorsement of NEW. NEW aims to recruit, train and deploy 2,000 domestic poll watchers on May 14th and will issue a joint, comprehensive report on the electoral process.

The NEW effort is supported by the **Commonwealth Secretariat** and **NDI** with funding from USAID/OTI and UNDP. NEW is based in NDI's Freetown office at the NDI/FORDI Resource Center at 7 Lightfoot Boston Street.

The member organizations of NEW are:

- 1. Sierra Leone Bar Association (SLBA)
- 2. Sierra Leone Teachers Union (SLTU)
- 3. Sierra Leone Labor Congress (SLLC)
- 4. National Commission for Democracy and Human Rights (NCDHR)
- 5. Civil Society Movement (CSM-SL)
- 6. Council of Churches in Sierra Leone (CCSL)
- 7. Women's Forum
- 8. Sierra Leone Association of Journalists (SLAJ)
- 9. National Forum for Human Rights (NFHR)
- 10. Movement for the Restoration of Democracy Sierra Leone (MRD-SL)
- 11. Network Movement for Justice and Development (NMJD)
- 12. Center for Coordination of Youth Activities (CCYA)
- 13. National Union of Sierra Leone Students (NUSS)
- 14. Campaign for Good Governance (CGG)
- 15. Academic Staff Association, University of Sierra Leone (ASA)
- 16. Forum for Democratic Initiatives (FORDI)
- 17. Inter-Religious Council of Sierra Leone (IRCSL)
- 18. Campaign Against Violent Events (CAVE)

In order to ensure effective implementation of program activities at the regional and district levels, NEW has put in place a structure, as follows:

National Coordinating Council National Coordinators

	Name	Umbrella Group
1	James A. Lahai	SLTU
2	Alithur Freeman	CSM
3	Rev. Rogers-Wright, Chairman	CCSL
4	Ngolo Katta	CCYA
5	Frederick Hassan Konteh	ASA

Regional Coordinating Council Regional Coordinators

	Region	Coordinator	Umbrella Group
1	Western	James A. Lahai	SLTU
2	Southern	Josephine Kenneh	CSM
3	Northern	Usman J. T. Fornah	IRCSL
4	Eastern	Rev. James Kabangai	CCSL

District Regional Coordinators District Coordinators

	Districts	Coordinators	Umbrella Group
1	Koinadugu [N]	Abu Bakarr Kuyateh / Eddy Tuvay	SLTU
2	Bombali [N]	Alims Kabia / Victoria Kabia	CSM
3	Kambia [N]	A. Y. Kargbo / A. T. S. Kanu	IRCSL
4	Tonkolili [N]	Hassan Bangura / Africanus Sesay	CCSL
5	Port Loko [N]	Taylor S. Kamara / Abu Bakarr Conteh	CCYA
6	East District [W]	Maxwell Kpakra / Sinnah Bah	CCYA
7	West District [W]	Edward P Bockarie / Ahmed Sannoh	MRD-SL
8	Bonthe [S]	Marilyn Palmer / Rev. George Sandy	CCSL
9	Pujehun [S]	Josephine Sowa / C. S. Koroma	SLTU
10	Bo [S]	Alex Nalo / Sheku James	CSM
11	Moyamba [S]	Andrew Songu / Tenneh Alpha / [Christiana Dixon]	CCYA
12	Kono [E]	Rev. Yonga / Lilian Lahai	IRCSL
13	Kailahun [E]	Rev. Francis S. Nabieu / Patrick Kanu	IRSCL
14	Kenema [E]	F. E. A. Kallon / Sahr P. Tondoneh	MRD-SL

The National Coordinating Council has four main responsibilities: 1) to oversee the coalition program activities; 2) to review reports on committee activities; 3) to coordinate communication between NEW and the National Electoral Commission (NEC), political parties, the media, and the general public policy, and 4) to coordinate public information, such press releases, press conferences, radio/TV broadcast and interviews.

A national training of trainers (TOT) took place on **April 4 and 5 in Freetown**, while two regional trainings were conducted on **April 23 and 24 in Makeni** for the Northern and Western Regions, and on **April 25 and 26 in Bo** for the Southern and Eastern Regions.

Selected observers trained during the Regional TOT will in turn conduct District level trainings scheduled between **April 30 and May 10**.

For further information, please contact:

Rev. Rogers-Wright, Chairman of NEW

Office: 076 638 515 Mobile: 076 621 806

Mr. Frederick Hassan Konteh, NEW National Coordinator

Office: 076 638 515 Mobile: 076 604 943

Mr. Gregory Houel, NDI/Washington DC, Senior Program Assistant

Office: 076 638 515 Mobile: 076 623 302

Mr. Idriss Din Gabisi, NDI/Resource Center, Program Assistant

Office: 076 638 515 Mobile: 076 628 007

Dr. Baffour Agyeman-Duah, Commonwealth Secretariat Trainer

Office: 076 638 515 Mobile: 629 590