

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 4, 2011

Contact: Kathy Gest, kgest@ndi.org, 202-728-5535

SECRETARY OF STATE HILLARY CLINTON TO DELIVER KEYNOTE ADDRESS AT NDI DEMOCRACY AWARDS DINNER

Institute Will Honor Geraldine Ferraro, Richard Holbrooke, Charles Manatt And Egyptian Women's Rights Group

WASHINGTON, DC – Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will deliver the keynote address at the National Democratic Institute's (NDI's) 2011 Democracy Awards Dinner on Monday, Nov. 7.

The event will be held at 7 p.m. at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, 1301 Constitution Ave., NW, hosted by NDI Chairman Madeleine K. Albright.

The Institute will honor posthumously three champions of democracy – Geraldine Ferraro, Richard Holbrooke and Charles Manatt – who will receive NDI's W. Averell Harriman Democracy Award. In addition, NDI will present its Madeleine K. Albright Grant to Appropriate Communication Techniques for Development (ACT), a women's rights organization in Egypt.

Secretary Clinton was a 1999 recipient of the Harriman Award.

Preceding the dinner, NDI will sponsor a roundtable on the Arab Spring. Panelists from Bahrain, Libya, Egypt and Syria will join former Secretary of State Albright in a discussion that will be moderated by Walter Isaacson, president and CEO of the Aspen Institute and author of *Steve Jobs*, a new biography. The discussion will be held from 5-6:15 p.m. at the nearby Pavilion Room at the International Trade Center in the Ronald Reagan Building.

The Harriman Award, created in 1986, is presented to individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a sustained commitment to democracy and human rights. Past recipients have included Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa; UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan; the eight political party leaders who negotiated the Northern Ireland peace agreement; Varela Project leader Oswaldo Paya of Cuba; Burmese democratic

leader Aung San Suu Kyi; Czech Republic President Vaclav Havel; Pakistan Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto; Zimbabwe Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai; Presidents Bill Clinton and Jimmy Carter; former Vice President Walter Mondale; Senators Joseph Biden, Richard Lugar, George Mitchell and Edward Kennedy; and then-UN Ambassador Madeleine K. Albright.

Cameras covering the dinner should arrive at or before 5:30 p.m. Final press entry will be at 6:30 p.m.

NDI is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working to support and strengthen democratic institutions worldwide through citizen participation, openness and accountability in government. More information about the dinner and about NDI is available at <u>www.ndi.org</u>.

###