You are here

Pacific Islands
Pacific Islands


The 12 sovereign nations forming the Pacific Islands region – the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Republic of the Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu – are characterized by young democratic governments. The Institute’s work in the Pacific Islands aims to advance domestic election monitoring efforts, strengthen civil society organizations capacity to cultivate civic engagement and demand government accountability, and raise awareness on barriers to women's political participation and violence against women in politics to address these unique challenges. NDI’s recent programs have included training citizens, including women, to participate actively in Bougainville elections, building Fijian women’s capacity to compete for elective office and govern more effectively, and promote women’s voices to contain election-related violence during PNG’s 2016 national elections and Bougainville Referendum of 2019.


News and Publications

Featured Stories

Get Involved

NDI's work upholds the idea that democracy is a human right – a principle enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. But it's a human right that many around the world still struggle to attain. You can be part of the solution. Join the movement for democracy.

Copyright 2024 © - National Democratic Institute - All rights reserved